From Shell to Sea: Week 2 Recap - ALX Software Engineering Program

Photo by Chris Ried on Unsplash

From Shell to Sea: Week 2 Recap - ALX Software Engineering Program

Surviving the Probation Phase

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

So in week 1, we covered the basics of Shell like how to navigate and set permissions. We also got into using Git, Emacs and vi.

Then in Week 2, we continued working on Shell projects from the first week, but this time we dug deeper into I/O redirections, filters, init files, variables, and expansions. At first, it was tough to wrap my head around it all, but with some help from the manuals and a few Google searches, I eventually got the hang of it. I could see how much better I was getting at navigating Shell and doing stuff.

We also dove into C programming language, we covered the basics like variables, if/else statements, and while loops. Some of the tasks were pretty tricky, but I was able to figure them out thanks to my previous experience with C from school. It was a nice experience to get a chance to show off my skills and creativity while learning at the same time.

In general, it was an exciting and productive week in the Program. I'm grateful for the opportunity to participate in this program and I look forward to what we will accomplish next week. As I continue to grow and develop as a software engineer, I'm confident that I will become more proficient in my skills and be well-equipped to tackle any challenges that come my way.